Saxo Bank Name TdF Squad

Danish-based Team Saxo Bank have named their nine riders for this year’s Tour de France, they are: Juan José Haedo, Jonathan Cantwell, Nick Nuyens, Chris Anker Sørensen, Nicki Sørensen, Michael Mørkøv, Anders Lund, Karsten Kroon and Sergio Paulinho.


Commenting on the selection team owner Bjarne Riis comments: ‘…I believe we have found a great mix of experience, aggressiveness and different competencies… We will bring JJ (Argentina’s Juan José Haedo) for the sprints, and we have some trusted helpers around him. In Chris we have a rider with the potential to really influence the mountain stages and maybe he is even a guy to watch for the mountain jersey. And lead by Nick and Nicki we field a group of riders with both power and flair to go in breakaways.’


With Spanish rider Alberto Contador continuing to serve out his ban for doping offences at the 2010 TdF Team Saxo Bank approach the event with something of a strategic gap, but Riis clearly remains upbeat – ‘Of course this is a very different job waiting for us this year without a designated GC rider. But I see this as an exiting challenge and a possibility to take some risks that would have been practically impossible under other circumstances. I actually have a really good feeling about the Tour, and I don’t think it would be wise to underestimate our team.’


Image (c)Tim De Waele


Like it? Share it:

By Editor

Cyclo is all about the bike...
Follow us on Twitter @CycloEditor and on Facebook -