London ITT Announced

Tour of BritainSweetSpot Group, the organisers of The Tour of Britain (September 11-18) have announced that the final day’s racing in London will be a split-stage with the morning’s action featuring an Individual Time Trial, the first for six years. The 10k ITT will, like the afternoon’s closing circuit, start and end at Whitehall. Although a final line up of riders is some way off from being announced, it goes without saying that the inclusion of the Stage 8a ITT will clearly give the likes of Mark Cavendish (HTC-Highroad) and SKY duo Bradley Wiggins and Geraint Thomas a chance to become the first British winner since the event was rebooted in 2004.


Commenting on the announcement of the split-stage Tour of Britain Race Director Mick Bennett says, “We are very excited about the route for the 2011 Tour of Britain, particularly with the inclusion of the final day time trial in the very heart of London.”


The confirmed stages now stand as:
Stage 1 (September 11) Peebles – Dumfries
Stage 2 (September 12) Kendal – Blackpool
Stage 3 (September 13) Stoke-on-Trent Circuit
Stage 4 (September 14) Welshpool – Caerphilly
Stage 5 (September 15) Exeter – Exmouth
Stage 6 (September 16) Taunton – Wells
Stage 7 (September 17) Bury St Edmunds – Sandringham

Stage 8a (September 18) London Individual Time Trial

Stage 8b (September 18) London Circuit


Like it? Share it:

By Editor

Cyclo is all about the bike...
Follow us on Twitter @CycloEditor and on Facebook -