Team Sky Tour Down Under Squad

Team Sky logoTeam Sky have announced the seven-man squad that will lead the charge for the 2014 season opener, the Tour Down Under, which runs January 19-26. Geraint Thomas will lead the team alongside Richie Porte, former Tour Down Under stage winner Chris Sutton, Bernhard Eisel, Luke Rowe, Ian Stannard and making his Sky debut Philip Deignan. The Australian race has invariably proven a success for Team Sky, which has seen them finishing on the overall podium on three of the last four occasions. The event will form part of the teamís build up for the prestigious Spring Classics once again, with success in Australia a key stepping stone for the riders.


Commenting on the teamís chances, Richie Porte commented: ĎI want to go to (the) Tour Down Under and perform. As an Aussie itís the race to winÖ It used to be a sprinterís race but now there are some good climbs in there like Corkscrew and Willunga. Iíve spent a bit of time in Adelaide so I know the climbs pretty well. I think if Iím in good form and we have a strong team there Ė if not me then through Geraint Thomas – we also have a really good chance. He was brilliant there last season so it should be an interesting race.í


Further details on the Tour Down Under at


Like it? Share it:

By Editor

Cyclo is all about the bike...
Follow us on Twitter @CycloEditor and on Facebook -