Vuelta a España 2014

Vuelta a EspañaThe Vuelta a España (or less romantically the Tour of Spain) is one of the three races, along with the Giro d’Italia and Tour de France that make up the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) ‘Grand Tours’. Whilst the Tour de France started in 1903 and the Giro six years later in 1909, the Vuelta is by far the youngest cousin with its first running in 1935 and a twenty-year gap until it became a full-blown annual event in 1955. In the same way that both le Tour and Giro were first staged and then grew in order to boost the circulations of their newspaper sponsors (L’Auto in France and La Gazzetta dello Sport in Italy), so too was the Vuelta conceived to increase the readership of Spain’s Informaciones.


This year’s Vuelta runs from Saturday August 23 to Sunday September 14 and will cover a total distance of 3239,9k across the 21 stages. Starting with a 12.6k Team Time-Trial in the city of Jerez de la Frontera and ending with an Individual TT in Santiago de Compostela (with an additional ITT on Stage 10) there will be five flat stages, 13 hill/mountain stages with 40 summits.


The full 2014 Vuelta a España route is:


stage 1 Jerez de la Frontera 12.6k (TTT)

stage 2 Algeciras – San Fernando 174.4k

stage 3 Cádiz – Arcos de la Frontera 197.8k

stage 4 Mairena del Alcor – Córdoba 164.7k

stage 5 Priego de Córdoba – Ronda 180k

stage 6 Benalmádena – La Zubia 167.1k

stage 7 Alhendín – Alcaudete 169k

stage 8 Baeza – Albacete 207k

stage 9 Carboneras de Guadazaón – Aramón Valdelinares 185k

stage 10 Real Monasterio de Santa María de Veruela – Borja 36.7k

stage 11 Pamplona – Santuario de San Miguel de Aralar 153.4k

stage 12 Logroño – Logroño 166.4k

stage 13 Belorado – Obregón. Parque de Cabárceno 188.7k

stage 14 Santander – La Camperona. Valle de Sabero 200.8k

stage 15 Oviedo – Lagos de Covadonga 152.2k

stage 16 San Martín del Rey Aurelio – La Farrapona. Lagos de Somiedo 160.5k

stage 17 Ortigueira – A Coruña 190.7k

stage 18 A Estrada – Monte Castrove. Meis 157k

stage 19 Salvaterra do Miño – Cangas do Morrazo 180.5k

stage 20 Santo Estevo de Ribas de Sil – Puerto de Ancares 185.7k

stage 21 Santiago de Compostela 9.7k


Further details on the Vuelta at


Like it? Share it:

By Editor

Cyclo is all about the bike...
Follow us on Twitter @CycloEditor and on Facebook -