Featured Features

The Art of the Tour Down Under

Regular readers of Cyclo will be familiar with the work of Greig Leach, a one-time amateur club bike racer, who now combines his passions for cycling and painting. Previously Greig has helped illustrate action from Tour de France, the Tour of Britain and the USA Pro Challenge – now, with action in Australia dusted for another year, we are delighted to bring you his round up of the Tour Down Under…


Stage 1 – ‘Attacking the Climb’ – Adam Hansen, (Lotto) laying the ground work for his green polka dots.




Stage 2 – ‘Flying Across the Line’ – Diego Ulissi (Lampre) celebrating his winning of the sprint in Stage 2 of the Tour Down Under.




Stage 3 – ‘Rolling Along’ – The strong break away with Jens Voight (Trek), Andriy Grivko (Astana), Jerome Cousin (Europcar) and Travis Meyer (Drapac).




Stage 4 – ‘Make It Fifteen’ –  Andre Greipel taking his first of two stages at the Tour Down Under and setting a new record for total TDU stage wins by an individual rider.




Stage 5 – ‘Why Defend? Attack’ – Cadel Evans attacks at the bottom of the second ascent of Willunga Hill.  He gambled, instead of just sticking to the wheels of Ulissi and Gerrans.




Stage 6 – ‘Bringing Home the Jersey’ – With all of the bonus seconds scooped up by the early break, Orica-Greenedge escort the Ochre Jersey of Simon Gerrans around the streets of Adelaide and up to the finishing line just behind the sprinters.




To learn more about the work of Greig Leach and for details of his substantial output see and also – he is sponsored by Richeson Art, and for an overview of all the work we have featured on Cyclo (including last year’s Tour de France, Tour of Britain and the USA Pro Challenge) click here.



Simon Gerrans Record Down Under

tour_down_under_2014_ogeAustralia’s Simon Gerrans has won a record third Tour Down Under, beating fellow countryman Cadel Evans by a mere one second at the traditional UCI WorldTour season-opener; a victory made all the more sweet for having taken place on Australia Day and whilst riding for Australian team Orica GreenEDGE.


Gerrans had gained his overall one second lead the previous day and finished in Adelaide on the same time as André Greipel (Lotto-Belisol), who beat Mark Renshaw (Belkin) and Andrew Fenn (Omega Pharma-Quickstep) in the Stage Six sprint. Commenting on his historic victory Gerrans said, ‘The guys did a fantastic job, they kept me right at the front and out of trouble, so it worked out beautifully. It’s a huge honour to win the Tour Down Under. For it to be on Australia Day and racing for an Australia team, it just doesn’t get much better… I guess today’s win is a combination of relief and excitement.’


Photo Credit: Graham Watson



Team Sky Tour Down Under Squad

Team Sky logoTeam Sky have announced the seven-man squad that will lead the charge for the 2014 season opener, the Tour Down Under, which runs January 19-26. Geraint Thomas will lead the team alongside Richie Porte, former Tour Down Under stage winner Chris Sutton, Bernhard Eisel, Luke Rowe, Ian Stannard and making his Sky debut Philip Deignan. The Australian race has invariably proven a success for Team Sky, which has seen them finishing on the overall podium on three of the last four occasions. The event will form part of the team’s build up for the prestigious Spring Classics once again, with success in Australia a key stepping stone for the riders.


Commenting on the team’s chances, Richie Porte commented: ‘I want to go to (the) Tour Down Under and perform. As an Aussie it’s the race to win… It used to be a sprinter’s race but now there are some good climbs in there like Corkscrew and Willunga. I’ve spent a bit of time in Adelaide so I know the climbs pretty well. I think if I’m in good form and we have a strong team there – if not me then through Geraint Thomas – we also have a really good chance. He was brilliant there last season so it should be an interesting race.’


Further details on the Tour Down Under at



New City Circuit for Santos Tour Down Under

Santos Tour Down UnderThe Santos Tour Down Under – the traditional season opener for the UCI WorldTour – will feature an all-new ‘People’s Choice Classic’ city circuit next year. The 50km course – effectively a preview for the following day’s Stage 1 – will see riders test their legs on a route that takes them over the River Torrens and through Adelaide’s parklands and the heart of the city, providing spectators with the opportunity to get closer to the action than previously possible.


Announcing the route for the January 19 race, Tourism Minister, Leon Bignell, said: ‘The People’s Choice Classic is always an exhilarating preview to the six-stage Santos Tour Down Under and in 2014 we’ll see riders start the closed-circuit race on Victoria Drive… with plenty of great vantage points for fans to enjoy the action while perhaps enjoying a picnic by the river.’


The 2014 Santos Tour Down Under will be held in Adelaide and regional South Australia from January 19–26 for further details see 



Santos Tour Down Under 2014 Route

Santos Tour Down Under 2014 RouteDetails of the route for the Santos Tour Down Under 2014 – set to run January 19 – 25, in and around Adelaide, South Australia – have been announced. With circuits around the Barossa and Adelaide Hills, tough climbs up Willunga Hill and Corkscrew Hill, cosmopolitan starts in Prospect and Unley and the return of old favourites in Norwood and Victor Harbor, the 2014 race is certainly shape up to be something special. The 2014 event also sees Stage 1 return to Nuriootpa for the first time since the race’s inception in 1999, including the gruelling Menglers Hill climb just 14km from the finish at Angaston.


Tourism Minister, Leon Bignell, says the 2014 course will test sprinters, climbers and all rounders, commenting, ‘Today we are announcing some fantastic new race routes which will really test the riders and maintain this great South Australian event as the best cycling race outside of Europe.’


The Santos Tour Down Under 2014 schedule is:


January 19 People’s Choice Classic City Circuit TBC (50 km)

January 20 Rest Day

January 21 Stage 1 Nuriootpa – Angaston (135 km)

January 22 Stage 2 – Prospect – Stirling (150 km)

January 23 Stage 3 – Norwood – Campbelltown (145 km)

January 24 Bupa Stage 4 – Unley – Victor Harbor (148.5 km)

January 25 Stage 5 – McLaren Vale – Willunga Hill (151.5km)

January 26 Stage 6 – Route TBC (85.5 km)


For further details see and for an appreciation of the sense of fun that famously surrounds the Tour Down Under take a look at their TV commercial below…